Getting ready for a Tournament

So on the 14th of November my FLGS is having the last Mk1 Tournament of the year.  I thought about it and decided I want to go for it.  Now this week, on Friday, I will be putting in an order to get the rest of the stuff I need to go to 750 with my Grim List.  If you don’t remember, here is my original 750:

Faction: Trollblood
Points: 740
Model Count: 23
Victory Points: 26

Grim Angus
Troll Impaler
Troll Impaler
Dire Troll Mauler
Brun Cragback
> Lug

Fell Caller
Horthol, Long Rider Champion
Krielstone Bearer & Stone Scribes    [6] (2 added)
> Stone Scribe Elder    [1]
Swamp Gobber Bellows Crew    [2]
Trollkin Champions    [5]

The bolded items being the ones I will be getting.  However, after thinking a bit during the week I came up with what I thought was a more solid 750 list with Grim.  This however would be more expensive:

Faction: Trollblood
Points: 744
Model Count: 24
Victory Points: 27

Grim Angus
Troll Impaler
Dire Troll Mauler
Brun Cragback
> Lug

Fell Caller
Horthol, Long Rider Champion
Krielstone Bearer & Stone Scribes    [5] (1 added)
> Stone Scribe Elder    [1]
Swamp Gobber Bellows Crew    [2]
Trollkin Champions    [5]
Trollkin Long Riders    [3] (0 added)

The major difference here is the addition of the Long Riders and the removal of the Impaler.  I am not sure which to go with, as I can go with either by the 14th.  Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “Getting ready for a Tournament

  1. Pingback: State of the Kriel – News and More! « Iron Kingdom Adventures

  2. Barrett Young

    The big question here is whether or not 1 light and 1 heavy can give Grim the Fury he needs sufficiently. If they can (I don’t know how he plays), I say go with the Cav. They’re fast and will give you extra option for speed and hit and runs. It all depends on how Grim manages Fury.

    Like

    1. So far I havent had an issue with fury with 2 Lights and a heavy at 500. In fact, I usually end up a little hot.

      Thats why I am thinking running him with just 1 light and a heavy could work. There is a guy at our FLGS who has a Trollblood army who runs Grim with just a single Impaler and he does well apparently.

      So it may work out. I can always use the Impaler to cast its Animus on Grim, and then boost the Hit and Damage rolls to make sure I spend that 2 Fury.

      Like

Tell me what you Think

