Vassal Challenge – Match 1 Set!

So another Vassal Challenge Update. My first match will be against Gdaybloke of Lost Hemisphere and his Retribution, currently set for the 17th of December. Its gonna be a 35 point game. Now, since Vassal does not have Retribution in the system yet he is going to be proxying his dudes with rough approximations obviously. I of course will be busting out my trolls. I was planning on a 35 point eDoomshaper list, as the new Hoarluk looks like a fun guy to break out.

Here is what I was planning. I have 2 lists and wanted your opinions my gentle readers.

List 1:

Hoarluk Doomshaper
Troll Axer
Dire Troll Mauler
Mulg the Ancient
Kriel Warriors (Leader and 9 Grunts)
Trollkin Runeshapers (Leader and 2 Crew)
Fellcaller
Stone Scibe Chronicler

Now this list is all about getting those beasts up in my enemies face. The Runeshapers are there to cause some AOE Damage and possible Knockdown (both with Tremor and with CritKnockdown on the AOE), and the Chronicler / Fell Caller are there as support for my Kriel Warriors.

List 2:

Hoarluk Doomshaper
Troll Axer
Dire Troll Mauler
Mulg the Ancient
Kriel Warriors (Leader and 9 Grunts)
Kriel Warrior Caber Thrower
Thumpercrew (Leader and 2 Crew)
Fellcaller
Stone Scibe Chronicler

This list uses the Thumpercrew as a ranged autoslam threat. Since I know I will be facing Rahn I won’t be slamming things INTO him but I will be able to slam other things around, like his Arc Nodes, Narn, what have you. The Caber Thrower was there cause I had an extra point, and hitting everything in a 3in Line is just something nice. Once again I have the Fell Caller and Chronicler as support.

In both cases I fully intend to cast Wild Aggression on Mulg turn 1, and probably Refuge on the Axer and upkeep them for the rest of the game. From that point I will have 5 fury to work with, and I can use that to cast Rage, Rush, or Primal Shock. And yes, Primal Shock will probably be used to get an AYGET off at some point to get Mulg moving faster. I have no Whelps but with the new Frenzy rules I don’t feel that I need em.

I am leaning towards list 1, but at the same time I want to see a Thumpercrew in action. Both the Runeshapers and Thumper are things I have been considering purchasing based on the Field Test, but I want to wait till its set in stone how they will interact.

These 2 lists are probably what I am gonna run in any 35 point Vassal Challenge Game right now, unless I decide to try out a ranged heavy Calandra list or something. There is something about putting Pygs, Dygmies, and some Thumpers in with Calandra and her feat. I dunno. It just sounds…evil. Oh and lets not forget our 2 Impalers! :D

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Tell me what you Think

