Open Mouth, Insert Foot

Ya know, when I quit something I usually stay away from it for a while. Take World of Warcraft: Haven’t played in a few months. But I would have to say that my quitting of Warmahordes is the shortest time away from the game. And I blame a few friends of mine. Now when I quit, and posted that I quit, I meant it. I had packed everything up and had it placed in my closet to await such a time as when I would either start playing again or sell it. Amusingly enough however, the day AFTER I posted my public goodbye, a friend of mine who had not actually seen it (we shall call him WFB) invited me to join him and another friend of mine (who shall be called Druid) to join them in a day of Warmahordes, low point games. They also wanted Dan to come, and knew that all he had was the Battlebox.

So, I informed them that I had quit but Dan would go, and instead of asking me they simply asked me to still come and at least hang out with em. Now these two are awesome guys, a few of the good ones from the LGS I was playing at. So, I decided a few days later (after my wife harressed me) to go ahead and take my stuff and see what happens.

I am glad I did. I had more fun on that single Saturday then I have ever had playing Warmahordes. And we decided on that day to continue doing that. Just getting together like once a month and playing small fun games against each other. We even did a little tournament which I am gonna get into.

So Saturday I get there with Dan, and we get things setup. I brought Dip, for no party should be without CHIPS AND DIP! But I digress. So we got setup, and decided to start our day with a 15 point 4 way brawl. During the brawl we decided to do a tourney using the results of said brawl as the brackets (first 2 out play against each other, and the last 2 standing play against each other)

I ended up as second place. Dan saw just how scary a Warpwolf can be when he used it to absolutely decimate my Mauler. Druid showed us all what Amon can do, and I found out just how terrifying Hunters are. Basically this is how it went down: Dan was taken out by Druid. Druid was taken out by Me in 1 shot. I attempted to kill WFB and failed, and conceeded.

We had decided that you could only change your caster if you had lost him (he was destroyed) which meant that Dan and Druid could have changed casters. Druid did to Reznick, Dan kept Kaya. After our 4 way match, Dan and Druid had their match, which was upped to 20 points and allowed 1 unit. Dan took Druids of Oroboros, and almost won. From what I understand he got Reznick down to 5, but couldn’t finish him off.

My and WFB then faced off to see who would face Druid in the finale. I ended up winning on a lucky shot. I had taken 3 Champs to bring myself to 20, and I lost them, my Mauler, and my Axer. All I had left was my Impaler and Grim, and he had his whole army. I managed to get Grim around on a Flank, cast Far Strike, and had range to shoot Caine. I needed a 10 to hit, boosted and got exactly 10. I need a 14 to kill, boosted and got exactly 14. Best. Shot. Eva.

The finale was Me vs Druid, at 25 points with the addition of a solo if you wanted. I got crushed. Stupid Avatar of Menoth.

So yea, me and Dan enjoyed ourselves so much we fully intend to keep playing in this way. In fact our next game day is the last Saturday of this month, barring any work issues. I hope to have 2 new things, but I am debating.

Which would you get? Here is a Poll, so vote away. It will be open till Monday.

Once you all have voted I will post one other poll based on the highest votes, and see what you all suggest. I am going to get ONE thing next friday so hurry up and vote guys.

One thing I was thinking of for a 25 to 35 list would be the following:

25 Points:
Hoarluk Doomshaper, Rage of Dhunia
Dire Troll Mauler
Mulg the Ancient
Trollkin Champions (Leader and 4 Grunts)

Then to bring it up to 35 I would do the following:

Hoarluk Doomshaper, Rage of Dhunia
Troll Axer
Dire Troll Mauler
Mulg the Ancient
Trollkin Champions (Leader and 4 Grunts)
Fell Caller Hero

I also had the idea behind a Borka list, which would require Borka and Fennblades:

25 Point:

Borka Kegslayer
Troll Axer
Dire Troll Mauler
Krielstone Bearer and 5 Stone Scribes
Krielstone Stone Scribe Elder
Trollkin Fennblades (Leader and 5 Grunts)
Fell Caller Hero
Stone Scribe Chronicler

And to go to 35:

Borka Kegslayer5
Troll Axer
Dire Troll Mauler
Krielstone Bearer and 5 Stone Scribes
Krielstone Stone Scribe Elder
Trollkin Champions (Leader and 2 Grunts)
Trollkin Fennblades (Leader and 9 Grunts)
Fell Caller Hero
Stone Scribe Chronicler

Which do you all think?

4 thoughts on “Open Mouth, Insert Foot

  1. Clayton –

    Don’t feel bad about taking a break from the game. I have taken a few breaks. I just don’t go in and play for a couple months. I use that time to clear my head and catch up on things that I had set aside while obsessing over my models. Warma/Hordes is an amazing game but you have to take care of #1 first.

    Despite taking breaks I am glad to here you are feeling better about the game. I enjoy reading about your experiences. Don’t over do-it but keep ’em coming.

    Like

  2. Warmahordes is the crack cocaine of wargames. Glad you found a way to play it that you enjoy. It can be tough when a local meta plays a certain way. Our WHFB meta is highly competitive and tournament focused. By recognizing that we deliberately run fun campaign events to escape the tedium. I think small games of Warmachine can be great fun.

    Game on good Sir. Game on.

    Owen

    Like

Tell me what you Think

