I’m Blogggginnnnn Awaaaayyyyyy!

Yea, thats a freaking STYX reference, deal with it. So alot has been happening since my post detailing my sale of my Trolls and whatnot (which are still available by the way!) and I wanted to talk about it. I am gonna actually do a breakdown of the various subjects, and we shall go from there.

First up, Music News:

I went on Friday night to see my friend Ed’s band OXEN for their first live performance (although Ed himself has performed in other bands live for like 14 years), and I was very happy with it. I actually enjoyed his particular style of music, very smooth and mellow, and calming. But with enough rock to make it pop out and be memorable. I actually want copies of the songs I heard to be honest. I also recorded the entire show with my shitty Nikon camera, but after Ed saw it he asked that I not put it out on the web, so I am respecting his wishes. I don’t mind to be honest, the audio on my camera is horrible.

But I will keep you all updated as he progresses in his little endevour. Its good stuff.

Dungeons and Dragons News:

Oh man this is fun stuff to talk about. First up, I joined a Online DND 4th Ed Game with some people from The Spoony Experiment forums, using Skype and MapTools to play. We have done 2 sessions thus far and I have had a blast. The group had been adventuring for a while, so I got to start at 6, and am 7 now (Our DM is accelerating the XP until Paragon) and I am playing an Artifcer. Its a blast. But specifically, I gotta talk about something our party did.

We are invading a Cult of Tiamats base, which is housed in this huge mansion. We freed some slaves, and they told us that Werewolves were in the kitchen. Yea, thats just silly. So we hit the Kitchen next and run into a Chef, Werewolf, and Wearboar. The Chef of all things turned out to be an Excellent Chef, along with an Elite Fighter. He attempted to throw me into a huge pot of water, using an oiled table as a slide. It was pretty awesome. We ended up however throwing him AND the Werewolf into that pot, slammed the lid down, and had our Halfing sit on the lid to keep it closed. They gave up and lived.

We then found out that in the next room were the animal cages, where a gnome kept the sacraficial animals. Our recently joined Druid, who had been captured, was all hot and wanted to rush in and kill em, but we ended up divising an AWESOME Plan. We had me and the halfing hide under a serving cart, and the druid change into a Boar and take an apple in his mouth. We then had the rest of the party sit in the huge cauldron, and with the Chefs help (via Intimidate checks made by our Paladin) we snuck in and bull rushed the gnome. I personally leapt out from under the cart, ran to the switch we had seen on the wall, jumping over the gnome while I yelled in character “BOO MOTHERFUCKER!”. The DM said that after our assualt, which took 1 round and we won, the gnome shit his pants.

The DM was not amused that we “ruined” his encounter, but I pointed out that we simply solved it via a creative means. Oh, and we fed the Gnome to an Ogre he had in a cage, because the bastard gnome was doing all this torture and crap for fun.

Yea, that game is gonna be awesome. After we finish I may end up running a game for these guys, so our DM can play.

Magic the Gathering News:

Still expanding my collection, and with some suggestions I think my GW Token/Counter deck is gonna be even crazier then before.

Video Gaming News:

So I played FF13 for about 20 hours. I got sick of the game. Seriously. I don’t like how the made everything even MORE Complicate and convoluted. When I got to a section of the game that felt like I was fighting Miniboss fight after Miniboss fight after Miniboss fight, followed by a RETARDED Boss (and this caused me to get so angry I snapped at my wife) I realized the game was no longer fun. This was even more pronounced when I had to fight Sahz’s Eidolon and had a crazy ridiculous fight against THAT. When I found out that the bosses later are even WORSE, I just stopped playing.

However, I did pick up Tales of Legendia for the Ps2 for $8 on Sunday, and I am very happy with it so far. Its a tried and true RPG with goofy cutesy stuff going on, but the main character is, for a change, not a swordsman (he punches people) and the combat is just like other “Tales of” games, only on a 2d plane which I do not mind at all. I happen to like that style of combat as I feel like I have more control. FF13 tried to “fake it” by having your characters run around, but the enemies could dodge your attacks while you could not dodge theirs. Stupid if you ask me.

So there is a huge update for you guys! I also wanted to ask this question of you all and you can just leave your answers in the comments:

What are your Top 5 Ps2 RPG’s that you think any gamer SHOULD own. PS2 SPECIFICALLY.

Tell me what you Think

