Deck Discussion – Whack-a-Mole

The SWARM! deck has been renamed Whack-a-Mole for now, as I have no idea what else to call it. After 4 games last night (2 I won, but not the way I had envisioned!) I have decided to really think about how the deck works, what changes need to be made, and how to make it even better.

First up, the actual decklist:

4 Steward of Valeron
4 Gilder Bairn
3 Order of Whiteclay
3 Jötun Owl Keeper
3 Spike Feeder
3 Spike Breeder
2 Twilight Drover

3 Paradise Mantle
3 Devouring Light
2 Beastmaster Ascension
3 Glare Of Subdual
2 Aura Shards
2 Luminarch Ascension

4 Llanowar Reborn
4 Graypelt Refuge
2 Krosan Verge
6 Plains
7 Forest

Simple enough right? The idea behind the deck (And I will admit I got the majority of this deck from a man named Sev over on the Avant Card Show Forums) is to generate counters, and tokens, and use those to kill your target. Now his original idea how Saporling Bursts and Sakura Tribe Elders (used to get the right lands) but I foolishly switched those out for the Luminarch Ascensions and the Stewards of Valloren. This caused my first problem.

Mana base.

See, in the 2 games I lost I got mana screwed. The first game I was working off of 2 lands only, and the second game (an Emperor game) I worked off of 3. So I need to fix my mana base a bit and give me more options. I got WAY too much green but at the same time I need a fair amount. A quandary if you will. Some other things about the lands: The Llanowar Reborns are nice, but at the same time they throw my curve off towards green (the Graft is sexy with the Bairns and the Feeders/Breeders), and the Krosen Verge never ever came up for use (and would have been expensive to say the least).

Also, I was informed that the Luminarch’s would put a huge target on my head, and I did find that to be true. However, at the same time, I found I could survive in general long enough to get the 4 counters needed to start the thing up. In fact, one of the 2 games I won was BECAUSE of the Luminarch. I got it online (with plenty of mana) made some blockers, and then after I got a few more Angels I attacked, activating the Beastmaster Ascension and doing 63 to my opponent. Next turn I took down his teammate with 81 points of Flying (made some more Angels)

The Devouring Lights, while nice, feel unneeded. In truth I only ever got to use one in one game, to prevent the death of an opponent (I wanted the two to keep killing each other!) I have enough control via massive token generation and the Glare of Subdual’s that I should not fear most enemies.

So after thinking about this, and the mana issue, I decided to do some changes. And I thank Christian of the AvantCardShow for pointing me in the right direction. The new deck (Still Unnamed) is as follows:

4 Selesnya Evangel
4 Gilder Bairn
3 Order of Whiteclay
3 Jötun Owl Keeper
3 Spike Feeder
3 Spike Breeder
2 Twilight Drover

3 Paradise Mantle
3 Selesnya Signet
2 Beastmaster Ascension
3 Glare Of Subdual
2 Aura Shards
2 Luminarch Ascension

2 Llanowar Reborn
2 Selesnya Sanctuary
4 Graypelt Refuge
2 Terramorphic Expanse
7 Plains
6 Forest

Changes and why:

Stewards of Valleron OUT, Selesnya Evangel IN – I found that if I cannot get the Bairn’s tapped, I have a problem in some cases (when I need em). The Evangel’s can tap a creature to generate a 1/1 token. Thus fitting the theme AND letting me tap the Bairn, setting up some counter doubling. The Stewards gave me once again too much green mana. Both have the same cost, so its a direct switch.

Devouring Light OUT, Selesnya Signet IN – Mana fixing plain and simple. I need the extra mana, and the lights are not useful compared to the extra mana.

2 Llanowar Reborn OUT, 2 Selesnya Sanctuary IN – Mana Fixing again. Its a bit slower and eventually I may replace the Sanctuary’s with the more expensive dual lands like the Shock Lands (Temple Garden) or the M10 lands (Sunpetal Grove) but for now it will due me.

2 Krosen Verge OUT, 2 Terramorphic Expanse IN – Why? The Expanse’s are easier to use, and don’t cost me mana to fetch things out.

Overall this deck is a solid Combo deck, with layers of interaction. IN fact the deck did things in both games I won that were NOT the intention, and yet I still won. So that proves that the deck is working, and with these changes will be even scarier.

Oh yea, and for those who are curious? I can generate 5 different tokens with this new version: Spirits (Fliers), Angels (Fliers), Birds (Fliers), Spikes, and Saporlings. Thats alot of different types.

One thought on “Deck Discussion – Whack-a-Mole

Tell me what you Think

