The Weekend in Review (pButcher vs Kromac!)

So lets talk about this weekend, and all the awesome and crazy that happened! So, friday night I went and cashed my paycheck and, with the cash burning a hole in my pocket I hit the nearby store Magic Inferno to pick up some Warmachine. Yea thats right, the physical location of an internet store is near my house (like 5 minutes away) and I can get those internet prices there without shipping, its freakin awesome. But it does have a downside, which I will explain shortly.

So, I go up there, and ask if they have pButcher, the War Dog, and the Widowmakers. They didn’t have the Widowmakers, but did have the rest, so I was able to pick Butcher and the pup for $20, and then ran home to assemble them.

The next day (Saturday), Dan comes over and tells me he has decided to go up to a full 15 points, and what he wants is Kromac and a Stalker. So, knowing that Magic Inferno does not stock Hordes yet, we call up Rhubarb Games to see if they have them, as Rhubarb was having a liquidation sale. I also visited Joann Crafts to get some spray paint (I intend to paint my 15 points BEFORE I go to 25, but more on that later)

Yes, thats right. A game store, the one where I actually play was closing down.

On the front page you can see the news post, but it basically runs down the reasons for closing as follows:

1. Economy forcing people to curb their spending or find alternative cheaper prices.
2. Internet pricing, cannot compete with it.

These are valid reasons, and both are true. With the way the economy is right now, I personally cannot afford to buy things at full price if I can avoid it. Its a fact of life. Yes, I want to support where I play but at the same time I need to think about my bottom line and how to stretch my cash the most. Some people may disagree with me and thats fine, but I am a firm believer in getting the most out of your dollar (hence my Budget MTG Deck articles).

So anyway, Dan finds that they have the Stalker, and he can nab it for 20% off. We get them to hold it, and head over to another game store (and the biggest game/comic store we have in the area) called Sci Fi City to see if they have Kromac. They ended up having a Mk1 carded Kromac Blister, but Dan had got the Circle faction deck so he was fine with that. I also found the Widowmakers at Sci Fi (Rhubarb did not have them, so I had to pay full price)

We headed over to Rhubarb, picked up the Stalker, and began to assemble. The store was dead, which was something I had never seen before on a Saturday, and it made me sad.

Note: The Widowmakers are one piece models and that made me VERY happy. Just some trimming of the little base slot bar and bam, done.

So I finished my Widowmakers and Dan was still fighting with the Stalker, hadn’t even touched Kromac. So I sat down with the store owner of Rhubarb, a really cool guy named Chris, and another guy named Chris (also cool, but now we have 2 Chris’s!) and played Munchkin Supers.

I lost, and then me and Dan had our first 15 point non battlebox game against one another.

I brought the following:

pButcher
– Juggernaut
– Destroyer
– War Dog
Widowmakers

And Dan brought the following:
Kromac the Ravenous
– Feral Warpwolf
– Warpwolf Stalker

Kinda one sided dontcha think? In reality, those 2 heavies and Kromac alone are enough to handle my army. The Stalker, if warping Berserk, could easily take out my entire unit of Widowmakers, and possibly under Warpath bounce around and nail my dog.

Alas, Dan was still learning and made a large number of errors. He really overestimated the threat of my Widowmakers, who spent the game running around trying to plink things. I think they managed 4 damage on the Feral and that was it. In fact, on Butchers feat turn they missed EVERY SHOT against the Stalker. They need a 7 to hit, I roll a flipping 6 on every shot. ARG!

In the end, pButcher with Iron Flesh and the Dog proved to hard to nail, and the damage I had put on Kromac thru the Destroyer earlier on my feat turn (additional damage die woot!) stalled him from using his feat to full effect. He ended up jumping into melee with the Butcher but could not hit a DEF 19 (needing an 11 to hit with the MAT of 8 ) and on boosted rolls just could not do it. He managed to hit the Butcher once, and did 3 damage. The next turn, Kromac had 1 hit point left due to his feat, and Butcher creamed him.

I think the biggest mistake Dan made was keeping Kromac in beast form for a good chunk of the game. It lessened the impact his spells could make as he could not use them. I also think Dan learned a few things in this game as well!

So now I am planning both on painting my current 15 point army, and also expanding it straight to 25. I decided that instead of a Red I would go with a snowy blue color, and I got the suggest from Owen of Far Far Away to spray paint the base color on them rather then priming black and then painting, as we all know how I feel about actually painting (here is a hint, I don’t like it). So I am sprayed with a light sky blue, and am going to get some metal paint and also some bronze and flesh tones so I can paint my 15 point list.

Once that is done, I am gonna go up to 25, but I need some help.

I got a couple of options when it comes to heading up to 25, 2 of which take advantage of Butchers tier list and the 3rd option does not.

Option 1:

pButcher
– Juggernaut
– Destroyer
– War Dog
Widowmakers
Min Man-o-War Shocktroopers
Min Man-o-War Shocktroopers

Yes, this is actually 25 points, because the Butcher’s tier list makes those min Man-O-War units cost 5 points each instead of 6. The advantage of this list? I get 2 units of some heavy armor (Shield Wall!) heavy hitters, who I can make worse through the use of Fury. Disadvantage? I am dead slow, but on the first turn the Shocktroopers are SPD 6 due to the Tier Bonus, but after that…slow.

Option 2:

pButcher
– Juggernaut
– Destroyer
– War Dog
Widowmakers
Max Man-o-War Shocktroppers
Manhunter

Once again, thanks to the tier list bonus the Shocktroopers become cost 8 instead of 9, which allows me to fit in the cruise missle known as the Manhunter. Put Fury on the Manhunter and he becomes a PS 14 Weaponmaster, and I catch him on my Feat turn he can roll 5d6 on his charge attack. Thats hot sauce right there. The con here? I dont get the speed bonus to the Shocktroopers, and the Manhunter is a glass cannon.

Option 3:

pButcher
– Juggernaut
– Destroyer
– War Dog
Widowmakers
Max Winterguard
– Winterguard UA
Kovnick Joe

This option completely forgoes the tier list, and instead goes for bodies on the table. The Winterguard, with the UA, and Iron Flesh hit an impressive DEF 17, and Joe makes em Tough. Feat turn, with Fury and Joe yelling Strength at them, they hit PS 14+4d6 on the charge. They are a solid solid option, but I forgoe the tier list as Joe is not allowed under the Butchers tier.

So which option do you all think I should go with? They all cost roughly the same money wise, so thats really not a factor. Of course, the Winterguard will cause me to have to paint ALOT of dudes…. yikes.

10 thoughts on “The Weekend in Review (pButcher vs Kromac!)

  1. Brian

    Just a comment about the third list, most of those are single wound infantry in the third list I believe, and Circle excels at destroying those.

    Also, yeah, the things that make Kromac a great warlock are the spells Bestial, Wild Aggression, and Warpath. Beastform is a secondary benefit really only used for Assassination runs, and even with Beastform you’re not really beefy enough to go for the really high armor warcaster like Karchev unless you’re out of options or in a really awesome position.

    Like

    1. Well we still have another place to play in Sci Fi City, its just…not as homey I guess you could say. Sci Fi is alot more distant it seems the times I go up there, and they are very heavy with Warhammer and 40k.

      They have alot of space though, and really nice tables. So I may just have to start going there.

      Like

Tell me what you Think

