RANT: The “Sexy” Character in Urban Fantasy

This is a blurb for a book I saw on Netgalley. I was interested…right up until I saw a specific line. Here is the blurb.

“When Maddie Kosloski’s career flatlines, she retreats to her wine-country hometown for solace and cheap rent. Railroaded into managing the local paranormal museum, she’s certain the rumors of its haunting are greatly exaggerated. But a new ghost may be on the loose. A fresh corpse in the museum embroils Maddie in murders past and present.

With her high school bully as one of the officers in charge, Maddie doubts justice will be served. When one of her best friends is arrested, she’s certain it won’t be.

Maddie grapples with ghost hunters, obsessed taxidermists, and the sexy motorcyclist next door as outside forces threaten. And as she juggles spectral shenanigans with the hunt for a killer, she discovers there truly is no place like home.”

The book is The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum by Kristen Weiss.

Now, if based on the title you can’t figure out which line I am angry about its this one – “and the sexy motorcyclist next door”. This is my beef with Urban Fantasy.

Every time I look at a blurb now, I dread seeing that line. And almost every single urban fantasy author out there has it on the back of their book. WHY?! WHY does your book need that “sexy” character? Why do you feel the need to make sure to point that out on the blurb? WHY?! So many books do this now. Not just Urban Fantasy (but they seem to be the biggest culprit of it)

Its the fastest way to turn my interest down to zero. If you have to point out there is going to be a sexy character, then that tells me I am not going to enjoy this. Now if you removed the word sexy the blurb would still work. It would. But nope, we gotta make sure people know that there is gonna be this sexy motorcyclist. Could be a sexy librarian. Sexy ghost? SEXY WITCH! IT DOESNT MATTER THEY ALL HAVE THIS SEXY CHARACTER AND DAMNIT YOU WILL KNOW ABOUT IT RIGHT HERE AND NOW BEFORE YOU EVEN CRACK OPEN THE COVER!

GAH!

STOP IT! Bad AUTHOR! BAD! NO. NO.

8 thoughts on “RANT: The “Sexy” Character in Urban Fantasy

  1. I love this post so very much!

    ” WHY?! WHY does your book need that “sexy” character?”

    Unfortunately because it follows a formula and formulas sell. I think readers are more apt to take a chance on something that’s obvious and tested than something that’s not. IDK, this sounds mean, but readers don’t have as much taste as I used to give them credit for.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha. Well, it puts me off too. Unfortunately, I never read the full blurb (I never watch full movie trailers either – Yeah, I am weird!). What I think is that this is a specific sub-genre of Urban Fantasy or maybe Urban Fantasy /Romance or whatever new names they have for all those genres now! I do read ‘light’ once in a while, but I want to know right away what I am going for. These mixtures of genres nowadays make me confused and upset.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dammit…there goes my sexy hunchback half-werewolf/half-vampire/half-fae/one-sixteenths Native-American shapeshifter who owns a shoe repair shop and is also a special agent hall monitor for the Council of Really Awesome Supernatural Beasties.

    (Great post. Caught myself the other day describing a character as “beautiful and mysterious” and thereafter wanted to stab myself in the eye.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG Tony! I didn’t think it was possible to throw up three times in less than a second. That’s gotta be the ultimate tier of pandering self indulgent character right there, only the sexy hunchback half-werewolf/half-vampire/half-fae/one-sixteenths Native-American shapeshifter who owns a shoe repair shop and is also a special agent hall monitor for the Council of Really Awesome Supernatural Beasties also needs to listen to really awesome indie music that no one’s heard of that perfectly describes their life and can be sprinkled throughout the book in references and quotes.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you Think

