Why I Read

I got asked this a few days ago and have been chewing it over in my head.  A Coworker who saw me reading in the breakroom asked me this.  They told me TV was better and more interesting.

My response was as follows:

“I read because it makes my brain work.  Anyone can watch TV.  It requires no effort.  Just hit a button and stare at the screen.  Anyone can watch a movie.  Again, same thing.  Both reading and by extension playing video games requires a form of interaction from the user.  In video games, I am in the drivers seat.  Nothing happens unless I do something to force it to.  Reading needs my imagination to work.  Thats why”.

They didn’t say anything else to me after that.  Just stared blankly at me.

It happens more then I care to admit.  Both in regards to playing video games and reading.  See I am an older gent, 33 at the time of this posting.  My parents don’t comprehend my love of games, although they get the reading love (my dad reads nightly, loves his kindle, and all he ever wants for christmas and birthdays is amazon gift cards).

As I get older I realize more and more that I want to keep my brain active.  TV doesnt do that.  Movies can if you watch the ones that are primarily designed to make you think, but things like a Michael Bay movie aint gonna do that.

I read, because I want to keep my brain sharp.  I read because I can get lost in the world and imagine a place that would not ever really exist.  I read because I can connect with the heroes and villains and know that my interpretation of them is mine alone, and no one elses.

I read because I can.

5 thoughts on “Why I Read

  1. “TV better and more interesting”?? ………No. Just no. No other answer but “NO!”

    I like TV, don’t get me wrong. I like to watch National Geographic, Nova, PBS, History Channel, etc. I also love bad movies on Syfy and TWD-ish shows.

    But ain’t nothin’ like a book for expanding your mind, pushing your imagination, and exciting your own creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alicia

    I read because I can!
    When I read, I feel smarter. My vocabulary is bigger and I process problems in a different way.
    I love reading! Quite frankly, I don’t know who I would be without books.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you Think

