An Essay written by @galaxykate about Procedural Generation

I love Procedural Generation in games. If done well, it basically creates a game that can be played infinitely. when done poorly, it can create basically trash.

Games like FTL and Binding of Issac are two very good examples of good procedural generation. I know folks who have hundreads of hours in each and they never get tired of em. Diablo 2 is arguably the king of procedural generation, as its still enjoyed 16 years later, as it was released on 6/29/2000.

One of the reason I have started learning Unity 3D is to eventually create a procedurally generated dungeon crawler FPS, similar in design to the game Hellgate London, which sadly was the first and only game of its kind. Seriously, no one has created anything like it since. You get Action RPGs a plenty but they all follow the Diablo formula. You get a few FPS RPGs but they follow the Borderlands formula. No one has created an FPS ARPG like Hellgate London.

I was browins Reddit, as I often do, and came across this thread which linked to an amazingly well written and interesting essay about procedural generation in more general terms.

Here is the Essay, written by someone called “Galaxy Kate”.

Its a fascinating read, and if you are interested in GameDev or just more esoteric game concepts you should give it a read. Its long, I admit, but I found it very cool.

Personally after reading it I am thinking that, for my purposes at least, I am going to start with Tile Based Generation. I have no idea how to write such a thing, and given that I am still learning how to work in Blender and Unity 3D to begin with, I have a long way to go. But its nice to have an eventual goal.

Also, I found this handy series that a lot of people say is really good for learning Unity 3D, written by Walker Boys Studio where they will even give you grades and things for free. And even mail you a certificate once ya finish. Thats pretty cool. Gonna focuse on learning the C# stuff for it.

Tell me what you Think

