I am giving up on Kickstarters and Crowdfunding

I am done with these bloody things. Sorry guys who have kickstarters going. I am not going to back you anymore. Sure, I might promote you if I like your project, and encourage folks who want to back you do so, but me, personally?

Not happening.

Why you might ask? Well, mostly due to issues involving over-promising and under-delivering. Recently, for example, a game called Heroes Song had an IndieGoGo launch which I backed. I trusted the team, they were all seasoned game devs lead by a big name in MMO development, John Smedly. I backed at the lowest level (I only do this now due to issues coming up) and promoted it. The game is coming along, there have been streams of it being playable, and the big reason I backed it was the promise that I would get “Alpha 3 Access” sometime “late October”.

Last week, a backer only update came out which detailed that they were most likely going to have Alpha 3 Access start on the 28th / 29th of October. Thats…really late October, but ok, I can dig it. It comes out right on a weekend and gives me some time to run around and enjoy myself, maybe stream it, before I have to start work.

Well last night Smedly popped up and crushed that notion by reveling that now Alpha 3 starts…on fucking Monday October 31st. Yea, he technically is delivering on the “Late October” start time but as far as I am concerned this is bullshit. 1 day in October. 1. With Early Access on Steam showing up Sometime in November? Well fuck why am I even going to bother playing it in Alpha now? Oh and its “looking like” its going to be Monday. IT STILL MIGHT NOT EVEN HAPPEN.

This is not the first time shit like this has happened. Almost 2 years ago I backed a Campaign Book for a setting called Karthun which was SUPPOSED to be released around 9/2015. Its now 10/2016. And its still not due to be finished till 2017 apparently. I backed this one to get a Hardcover Book. I regret this, honestly, but still want the damn book.  I am invested now.

Or how about Cryamore which was supposed to be released in 2014, and I backed it in 2013. HEY LOOK ITS 2016 AND ITS STILL IN DEV! At least this one is still alive, and is now being produced and distributed by Atlus.  They will hopefully deliver.  Maybe.

It could be Artizens which is playable on steam…barely. Its dead though, development is stopped and its no where near what was promised. In fact, the only Kickstarter I have personally backed that has actually delivered thus far, gaming wise, has been Wasteland 2 and that was STILL a year late, having been supposed to come out in 10/2013 and instead arrived 9/2014.

The only other kickstarters that have delivered what was promised, on time, have been a comic a friend of mine put out, and some albums by his bands. Thats it. Every time I see someone talking about a Kickstarter project or IndieGoGo or Crowdfunding its always about how its…well not on time. Its delayed. Its being worked on. Its been abandoned.

So thats it. Its over. NO more Kickstarters for me. Not even if they are friends of mine, or people I like. I cannot trust that something will happen to delay it.

I am still waiting for Crymore for fucks sake. Maybe in 2018 it will finally be done. 4 years later.

5 thoughts on “I am giving up on Kickstarters and Crowdfunding

  1. Pingback: RANT: I am Done with Crowdfunding (Now in Video Form) – Terminally Nerdy

  2. I have lost my passion for Kickstarter too. Most of the things I have backed have yet to see the light of day. In two cases I technically had to wait longer than regular punters to get the product I helped fund. Talk about not appreciating your supporters.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think half the problem is that development takes a lot longer than a few months, and it’s very easy to get behind on schedule if it’s not planned properly. I don’t really back Kickstarters because the goals and deadlines seem to be consistently unrealistic.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you Think

