Its time to talk Youtube Numbers again! – Channel Update

I like to write these posts, it lets me get my thoughts down on paper about how my youtube endevours are doing, where things are going, and where I think they will go!

So, I started uploading on 8/24/16 with my new channel. As of today, I am at 136 subscribers to my channel, which is pretty neat!

Now lets talk monthly growth. The big factor to youtube is actually not your sub count, but rather a combination of sub count, retention, views, and watch time. Its “the algorithm” as they say. So I may have very few subs, but according to my other numbers what I have is insanely loyal. Lets take it month by month.

September 2016

So this month was when I was just getting started again. I only had 4 videos total go up, and I dont believe I had started livestreaming yet. This is represented in my overall numbers:

sept2016

As you can see I have quite a bit of watch time but my over per view watch time average is very low, at 2 minutes. This is because I tried an advertising thing on Fivvr, and got nearly 1k views on a video, but each view was like 1-2 minutes in length. You can see the spike clearly in the left column. Thats why those numbers are so skewed. I have not bothered to try such an experiment since. I also got a total of 74 likes across the 5ish videos I had uploaded by the end of the month, so thats excellent. Overall, a solid start.

October 2016

This was the first month where I started to get rolling strong I think. Here is the overall for that month:

oct2016

Now this month you can see that my Watch Time overall and my average per view has gone up drastically. And if you notice, it happened towards the end of the month. What else did I start doing in October? I started STREAMING. In fact, the longest videos are the streams, and they have the largest amount of watch time. This actually helped my channel as a whole. Youtube only cares how many minutes of my stuff people are watching, and they watched TONS of stuff towards the end of October. Mind you, these numbers are a combination of LIVE and On Demand vieweing. If I switch to just On Demand (meaning no live events) I get Watch Time Total 1959 Minutes, Average of 5:26 per view, 360 views. Still damn impressive overall, and a direct increase from the previous month.

Novermber 2016

I might as well call my youtube a gym cause of all the SICK GAINS I am getting. Check this out:

nov2016

This is the first month where I really try to livestream at least once if not twice a week. And you can clearly see this. My overall watch time is high, my average watch per view is high again, and so one. Now you will notice that I am gaining less subs each month as time goes on, which honestly is fine, I kinda expected it given I don’t really promote myself or my channel very often. Same with the amount of likes I get. Basically, people really like to stick around and watch my stuff. And if we go to On Demand only (ie not live) I am looking at 1787 minutes of video overall, average per view of 6:39, with 268 views. So my overall views went down, but the average time each person watched went up. Interesting indeed!

What do these numbers tell me? That I am clearly doing something right, even if I myself feel I suck. What fans I do have genuinely like what I am doing and clearly want more of something, but what? I am moving to twice monthly (or every 2 weeks) for my VLogs, and my streams will still be at least once a week if I can swing it, barring any personal stuff. So we shall see how December shapes up for the month. Already December is sitting at the following however:

dec2016

Not too bad of a start, and doesnt include the last 2 days when I gained 3 subs putting me at my current count, so there is that. Lets see where the month leads, shall we?

Oh and for fun, here are all my videos, sorted by most watched, with the overall total watch time, average per view, and total average percent viewed. Its kinda eye opening. I should do more long streams! :P

vidstodate

And for those curious, you can find my Youtube Channel here – http://www.youtube.com/terminallynerdy

 

Tell me what you Think

