Patreon: Thoughts and Musings

As I get nearer and nearer to 300 subs on Youtube, I start to ponder where I should be going with it. Granted, my recent shift in focus to RPG content in general seems to be perfect. People love my RPG stuff (I think?) and I am doing well overall.

I think one the coolest things I have gotten into is reviewing RPG products. Recently I released my first review, on the campaign setting the Ice Kingdoms, and it was (I feel) pretty well received. I got a few more things to review already, and I really enjoy sharing these products. Its also easy to do (For me at least).

However, I have one limiting factor in all this. Its the same thing that limits me upgrading my equipment such as a better camera, or getting new games for reviewing, and so on.

Its money.

Now Patreon is a BIG THING in the internet world. Its basically crowdfunding artists and creative types. I know a ton of people who have em, and for a while I even backed a couple (minimally, had to stop cause, well, money!). Hell I even have seen a guy create a patreon before he even has a prodcut / show / blog / anything! Its a big deal. Popular folks even live off patreon like it was a full time job (Which given some creators, it actually is!)

I like the idea of patreon as well, personally. I like the idea of the fans of something / someone helping to support it. I love how fans can pledge as much or as little as they want, with limits built in. I like how Creators can have rewards for pledge levels, goals, and even setup if its monthly or per “creation”. I have had a few folks I know tell me I should create one… But the fact of the matter is, I don’t know if I should.

Most Patreon accounts have reward tiers. Stuff like “Pledge $10 an episode and get a free sticker!” and shit like that. Thing is, when thinking about my own show / videos, I dont really have anything to offer. I have no merch, although my wife is working on a shirt design at the moment, I have no time to do things like game nights and the like. I just dont have anything to offer BUT my work. It seems silly, and a bit rude, to ask for cash for no other reason then to do so.

Then there is the issue of reach. I have roughly 290 subs on Youtube, 1500 followers on Twitter, and a smattering of folks elsewhere (here on the blog and tumblr ect). I seriously doubt any of the folks following me would in fact support my weird ass little youtube endevour for no reward at all.

Granted, all I would use the Patreon money for would be things to support the show. Stuff like more products to discuss and the like, maybe giveaways and things. Or paying my net bill (cause I need to keep my upload rate!)

I dunno. Just thinking out loud I suppose. Sometimes I need to do this so I can put my thoughts on paper.

What do you think about Patreon?

4 thoughts on “Patreon: Thoughts and Musings

  1. I think the other thing to note is that it’s free and … Fairly… Easy to set up. I know what you mean about feeling like you don’t have anything to offer – but there’s also the “per creation” option. I’m using it at the moment to ask people to support a game release I’m working on. Not unusual so far – but the backers only get charged when it’s actually competed. I haven’t heard of anyone else doing that, which is probably not a money making things for sure. But could be a different way of going perhaps?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there!

    Coming from someone who’s done travel blogging and quite a bit of research on social media…you’re going in the right direction.
    Fact of the matter is, you WILL start having some things to give.

    Look at the patreon rewards and you’ll see some of them are personal videos that you create for fans…early access or BTS access to what you do. Why do people watch you? Do they want to be like you or do the things you do? You DO have things to offer. Heck…you could even allow a monthly subscriber or patron to be put into a pool for a monthly drawing to win some of the products you have received for review.

    There are many options out there.

    I’d be happy to brainstorm with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you Think

