The Plight of the Small Creator

I know I keep talking about supporting your favorite creators on twitter. I keep harping on it. Let me drop some knowledge, and explain WHY THIS IS IMPORTANT.

Whether you create reviews, videos, books, movies, blog posts, maps, or really any form of content, you are prolly aware of just how rough it can be to get your content in front of those who may enjoy it.

Its the worst part of being a small time content creator. You have this amazing kickstarter, say for a DND Book. Or a dice box. You know your product fills a need, but how the hell do you get people to see it? In general, the only solution is to spend money on advertising.

You see, despite people building followings on places like Youtube, Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, and other social media outlets, getting your followers or fans to actually share your work can be near impossible.

For example: I have 1900+ followers on Twitter, about 200 on Tumblr, about 200 here on WordPress, and 355 on Youtube. I dont post enough on Tumblr or WordPress however for these people to really matter, so lets pretend its just the 1947 twitter followers and 355 youtube subs.

Wanna know how many people pay attention to nearly ANYTHING I do? I am not even talking about when I mention my own content. I am talking almost ANYTHING.

Bout .5% on twitter, and 10% on Youtube.

Thats it. Think about that. No one really shares my own work, or comments. The comments I see on youtube are from the same 10ish people. I can get 30-40 views on a video, but maybe 10 people hit the like button. On twitter its even WORSE. I barely bother promoting my own videos beyond the day I post em, because I know no one is going to pay attention to it. Instead, I use twitter now to talk about other peoples work, and it seems to help a great deal. And what do people do on twitter? They hit the most useless button they can.

The like button. I hate that little bastard heart. ITS USELESS. Its maddening. On youtube, the like button has a purpose. Youtube considers that as part of its algorithm in regards to promoting videos, mostly due to like to view ratio.

On Twitter the like button might as well not exist. No one sees that you liked a tweet unless they expand it. Creators need those Retweets. We need those shares. If no one shares our work then we cannot grow. We cannot expand.

Whats interesting is how many people tell me how awesome I am. But they wont share my work on their own. And its not just me affected by this in the slightest. I see it ALL OVER THE DAMN PLACE! I see people commenting “Oh I love your art!” or “I love your comic!” or “This Kickstarter is amazing” but they do nothing else. They dont go out and share the item or anything. They don’t try to convince people that its worth looking at.

I try to make sure that if I think something is awesome, I hit that retweet button. I make it a point to share things on my own if I think they are worthwhile. I try to promote people I feel are worth a damn. Because that is what you should do with something you love.

If you really care about the creator, then help them. Spread the word. Tell your facebook friends about that awesome dice blog you found. Tell your twitter followers about that amazing comic you read. Link to them. Tell your tumblr followers or blog about em. SPREAD THE WORD.

IF you never tell others about the content creators you love, we will never get anywhere. We, as creators, can only do so much. And let me tell you something else: The internet HATES self promotion. It DESPISES IT. Why do you think Ad Blockers are so prevelant? We, the internet, HATE advertising.

Word of Mouth is really what works. But it only works if YOU do it.

Please help us. Hell I dont even care if you promote me. What I want to challenge YOU to do is this: Without prompting, without warning, pick someone whose work you adore. An author, a comic artist, an artist, a youtuber. Someone small who could use the help. And tell the world about them. Post about them somewhere. Talk about WHY you like them. Dont just say “This guy is cool” but try to explain WHY they are cool. If you dont, who will?

Help and Support your favorite content creators. So they can grow, and succeed, and continue to make the content YOU LOVE. Otherwise, eventually, they will give up, and fade away.

Tell me what you Think

